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1 Alabama https://www.alabamainteractive.org/ador_vic/ 

2 Alaska Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle 

Record.   

 

Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required 

documents to the Alaska DMV.  There is a $10 fee for each record.  Government agencies are not charged for this 

service. 

 

By Mail Division of Motor Vehicles 

  Attn: Research 

 1300 W Benson Blvd, Ste. 200 

 Anchorage, AK 99506-3600 

By Fax  (907) 269-5202 

By Email  doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov 

 

Forms URL:  http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/851.pdf 

 

3 Arizona If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle 

Record (MVR):  

 Online through the motor vehicle record request service on ServiceArizona.com  

 By mail using the Motor Vehicle Record Request form 46-4416    

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide 

you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle.   

 Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Arizona during the last 5 years may not be eligible for an 

MVR.  

 A Title and Registration MVR contains the following information:  Owner, vehicle, lien and brand. 

 

4 Arkansas Arkansas is under the Federal Driver’s privacy act and will not give out information belonging to someone else.  If 

https://www.alabamainteractive.org/ador_vic/
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/851.pdf
mailto:doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/851.pdf
https://servicearizona.com/webapp/citizenMVR/begin.do
http://mvd.azdot.gov/mvd/formsandpub/mvd.asp?txtNumber=46-4416
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you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of 

your driver’s license to request the information.  Your request must contain the following: 

  

1.       Vehicle specifics such as description of vehicle, VIN number, license plate number or name with 

address for an alpha search. 

2.       Reason for requesting the information. 

3.       Fees are $1.00 for owner/lien holder information and $1.00 for each copy of documents requested 

such as bill of sale, contracts, etc.   

   

Mail your request to: 

  

            Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles 

            Records Unit, Room 1100 

            P. O. Box 1272 

            Little Rock, AR  72203 

  

If you need additional information you may contact our Information/Records Unit by phone at 501-692-4692 or by 

fax at 501-682-4756 or by email at MVInformaiton@dfa.arkansas.gov 

5 California http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/inf/inf70.htm 

6 Colorado http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1220610980199 

7 Connecticut State of Connecticut  

Dept of Motor Vehicles  

Records Information  

60 State St 

Wethersfield, CT 06161 

(860) 263-5700 

8 Delaware http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/vehicle_services/other/ve_other_records.shtml 

9 Florida  http://www.flhsmv.gov/data/othercomp.html 

mailto:MVInformaiton@dfa.arkansas.gov
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/inf/inf70.htm
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1220610980199
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=816&Q=244700&dmvPNavCtr=|30279|#30284
http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/vehicle_services/other/ve_other_records.shtml
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10 Georgia  http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/dealers/whattagttlinfo.asp 

11 Idaho http://www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/vehicleservices/documents/3374.pdf 

12 Indiana http://www.in.gov/icpr/webfile/formsdiv/46449.pdf 

13 Iowa  Iowa Department of Transportation 

Office of Vehicle Services 

P.O. Box 9278 

Des Moines, IA 50306-9278 

vehser@dot.iowa.gov 

Telephone : (515)237-3110 

Fax number (515)237-3056 

http://www.iamvd.com/ovs/index.htm 

14 Kentucky  http://transportation.ky.gov/mvl/titles/tc96-16form.htm 

15 Louisiana http://www.expresslane.org  

16 Maryland Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration                        [Telephone- in-State] 1-800-638-8347        

Division of Vehicle Records                                            [Telephone – out of State] 1-301-729-4550 

6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.                                            [Hearing Impaired] TTY 1-800-492-4575 

Glen Burnie, MD 21062                                                   [General Information Line] 1-800-638-8347 

                                                                                          [Internet Address] www.marylandmva.com 

To request a certified copy of a vehicle record requires completion of an application Request for Motor Vehicle 

Administration Records (DR-057). The form may be obtained at: 

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Resources/DR-057.pdf 

Once completed, the form may brought in person to any full service MVA office or mailed to the Maryland Motor 

Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway N.E., Attn: Room 206, Glen Burnie, MD 21062. The fee for 

certified copy of a vehicle record is $12.00 and the fee for a non-certified copy is $9.00. Please make checks or 

money orders payable to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). 

17 Massachusetts http://www.mass.gov/rmv/express/index.htm  Please select “Title/Lien inquiry” and follow instructions. 

18 Minnesota www.mndriveinfo.org  or call DVS Records Office, 651.296.7557 

http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/dealers/whattagttlinfo.asp
http://www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/vehicleservices/documents/3374.pdf
mailto:vehser@dot.iowa.gov
http://www.iamvd.com/ovs/index.htm
http://transportation.ky.gov/mvl/titles/tc96-16form.htm
http://www.expresslane.org/
http://www.marylandmva.com/
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Resources/DR-057.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/express/index.htm
http://www.mndriveinfo.org/
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19 Missouri If you are the owner of record on the Missouri title, you may purchase a title and/or registration Motor Vehicle 

record by completing request form Request From Record Holder form, Form 4681.  Form and fee may be 

submitted by: 

 Visiting a Missouri Motor Vehicle licensing office.  Office listing and business information may be found 

at http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/offloc/ ; 

 Mail: Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle and Driver License Bureau-Record Sales, PO Box 

2167, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2167; 

 Fax:  (573) 526-7367; or 

  E-Mail: dlrecords@dor.mo.gov. 

Request form may be located at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4681.pdf. Refer to form for fee assessment. 

 

Vehicle owner will receive documentation containing requested owner, vehicle, lien, and/or registration 

information; however, this documentation may not be used in place of the Missouri title for transfer of ownership. 

For information on obtaining a duplicate Missouri title, visit http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/titlerep.php or call (573) 

526-3669 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. CT. 

 

If you are the not owner of record on the Missouri title, Missouri record information may be requested by 

submitting the request form and fee* for each record.  If personal information is requested, the requestor will 

submit Request for Motor Vehicle/Driver License Records/Personal Information form, Form 5091.  When no 

personal information is requested, the completion of form Request for Information, Form 4803 is required.  Refer 

to form for fee assessment. 

 

Forms may be found at http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/5091.pdf or 

http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/4803.pdf 

 

Public Records Request Review 

Prior to release, public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. 

DOL will either provide you with: 

http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4681.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/offloc/
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4681.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/titlerep.php
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5091.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4803.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/5091.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/4803.pdf
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 The record information you seek, or  

Notification in writing with an explanation that prevents release of the record you seek. 

 

20 Montana https://app.mt.gov/dojvs/public  

21 Nebraska  http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/dvr/vehrecreq.html 

22 Nevada  http://www.dmvnv.com/records.htm 

23 New Hampshire http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/forms/dsmv505.pdf 

24 New Jersey Businesses may access applications & obtain information through the NJMVC records website:   

http://www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/Records/index.htm  

 

Individuals may submit a written request for a variety of records  http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/   

25 New York Contact Information Not Available 

26 New Mexico New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division 

Joseph Montoya Building 

P.O. Box 1028 

1100 South St. Francis Drive 

Santa Fe 87504-1028 

Telephone Toll Free: 888-683-4636 or 888-MVD-INFO 

http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Pages/Fill-Print-and-Go-Forms.aspx#vehicle 

Download/fill out Confidential Records Release form 

Use this form if: 

- You would like to obtain a vehicle record 

Special Instructions:  In addition to taking this form to an MVD office. This form is eligible to be faxed to (505) 

https://app.mt.gov/dojvs/public
http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/dvr/vehrecreq.html
https://email.aamva.org/exchweb/bin/redir.asp?URL=http://www.dmvnv.com/records.htm
http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/forms/dsmv505.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/Records/index.htm
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/
http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Pages/Fill-Print-and-Go-Forms.aspx#vehicle
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827-2783 and include your name and phone number. 

27 North Carolina  http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/records/ 

28 North Dakota North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information -  

SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form. 

 Forms can be found on the NDDOT home page web site at http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/  or 

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf 

Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on this form. Or email the signed 

completed form to mv@nd.gov . 

29 Ohio http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv1173.pdf 

30 Oklahoma http://www.tax.ok.gov/mvforms/769.pdf 

31 Pennsylvania If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle 

Information (DL-135) from www.dmv.state.pa.us. Click on “Forms and Publications”, “All Motor Vehicle Forms, 

Publications and FAQ’s, and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing. 

32 South Carolina http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/default.aspx?n=nmvtis 

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina 

title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) to SCDMV, Post 

Office Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29216-0024. The title history for the vehicle will include odometer information. 

However, the name and address of the registered owner(s) is not available. The cost for the Title History is $6.00. 

For expedited processing, include an additional $20.00 fee for each record. Make checks payable to SCDMV. 

33 South Dakota Please submit to the following: motorv@state.sd.us 

34 Tennessee http://state.tn.us/revenue/forms/titlereg/vehinforequest.pdf 

35 Texas The consumer must: 

1. Complete and sign the form  

2. Certify by initialing their intended use of the information on 

      the back of the form 

3. Submit the form by mail along with a copy of the consumer’s 

photo identification and the appropriate fee ($5.75, title history or 

http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/records/
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
mailto:mv@nd.gov
http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv1173.pdf
http://www.tax.ok.gov/mvforms/769.pdf
http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/
http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/default.aspx?n=nmvtis
http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/forms/5027-A.pdf
mailto:motorv@state.sd.us
http://state.tn.us/revenue/forms/titlereg/vehinforequest.pdf
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$6.75 for a certified title history).  If the requested information will be used in legal purposes, we recommend that 

a “certified title history” be ordered.   

 

To ensure the most current request form is used please use the appropriate form from the site. 

http://www.dot.state.tx.us/drivers_vehicles/consumer_protection/personal.htm  

36 Utah If you are the owner of record on the Utah State title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle 

Record by completing Utah form TC-890.  Once completed please mail the form and payment to the address listed 

on the form 

If you are not the owner, please review the other authorized reasons listed on our form.  If you can meet one of 

these conditions, you may be entitled to the motor vehicle information.   

You can obtain this form on-line at  www.dmv.utah.gov   

 Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Utah during the last 10 years may not be eligible for a 

record search.   

 The owner name, vehicle information, lien holder and any brands will be provided.   

37 Virginia For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia www.dmvnow.com Look at the left 

hand column under DMV HOME – Online Transactions, select More Online Transactions, on the next screen, 

see Vehicle Services and under this heading select Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI). 

38 Washington Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure 

Request form to the Department of Licensing.   

 Access the DOL home page web site at http://www.dol.wa.gov 

o Click on the word “Forms”, located in the upper grey part of the home page, found toward the right 

hand side.  

o Click on the heading called “Public Disclosure”, which is located in the middle column titled “Forms 

by Subject”. 

o Scroll down this list to the second heading titled: “Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Requests” 

o Click on the first bullet in the list called: “Vehicle/Vessel Disclosure Request” (form #TD-420-531) 

o Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on the second page of this 

form. Or call the Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure unit at (360) 902-3780 and we will mail or fax the 

http://www.dot.state.tx.us/drivers_vehicles/consumer_protection/personal.htm
http://www.dmv.utah.gov/
http://www.dmvnow.com/
http://www.dol.wa.gov/
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form to you.  

 Your request will be acknowledged within five business days of receipt. 

Public Records Request Review 

Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and 

state laws. DOL will either provide you with: 

 The records you seek, or  

Notify you in writing with an explanation of the applicable statutory exemptions that prevent release of the records, 

along with an explanation of how those exemptions apply, in whole or in part, to the records you seek. 

 

39 West Virginia Contact our Records Management Unit at (304)558-0282 or go to 

http://www.transportation.wv.gov/dmv/Forms/Pages/default.aspx 

 and download and complete form DMV100 “Request for Vehicle Information” and either mail or take to our 

Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, WV with the applicable fees. 

 

40 Wisconsin Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Record request form and a $5.00 fee for 

each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked 

authorizing release of personal information.  

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/forms/mv2896.pdf 

  

Additional information related to privacy of WI motor vehicle records can be found at:  

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/privacy.htm  

41 Wyoming If you are the owner of record on the Title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was 

issued to order a duplicate title.  If you are the registered owner of record on the Registration, you must contact the 

County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or 

replace a lost or stolen license plate. 

 

The County Clerk’s and County Treasurer’s telephone numbers are listed on our website at www.dot.state.wy.us  

 

http://www.transportation.wv.gov/dmv/Forms/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/forms/mv2896.pdf
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/privacy.htm
http://www.dot.state.wy.us/
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For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act.  If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy 

Disclosure Agreement and pay $5.00 for each title search.  The Agreement is found on our website at 

http://www.dot.state.wy.us/wydot/titles_plates_registration/title_search  

 

http://www.dot.state.wy.us/wydot/titles_plates_registration/title_search

